The very first First Presbyterian Church of Stamford, a wooden structure located at 90 Broad Street, was dedicated in 1854. One hundred years later, in 1954, the congregation voted to relocate to our present location on 10 acres of land at 1101 Bedford Street. Always considered a leader in the community, the First Presbyterian Church furthered its historical distinction when the new structure, with its modern facade and towering carillon, earned the Church landmark status.
Designed by Wallace K. Harrison, the new sanctuary was dedicated in March 1958. Its shape has been likened to that of a fish - a symbol used in early Christianity. The fish shape is apparent both in the profile and in the floor plan of the structure. Enhancing the unique shape of the church are the outstanding stained glass windows in the sanctuary, containing more than 20,000 pieces of faceted glass and depicting the story of the Crucifixion and of the resurrection; and the 32 foot high cross faced with wood from the Canterbury Cathedral in England, which dominates the Chancel.
Ever mindful of our rich history, from our early Presbyterian ancestors to our more recent past in Stamford, FPC literally offers a walk through time. The stone wall along Bedford Street contains a series of tablets which recognize significant events, institutions and individuals in the history of Stamford, particularly those with a religious impact, from 1641-1975.
The Memorial Walk leading from Fellowship Hall to the main entrance of the Sanctuary has more than 100 stones, each representing one of the spiritual giants of the Judeo/Christian tradition from the days of Abraham to the present.
The wall outside the chapel contains a collection of over 100 stones, personally gathered by former pastor Dr. George Stewart “from far places where other believers turned not their back.”
For additional information about the sanctuary click on the logo button below.